The overriding rule is that users can only view or edit the modules, folders, tables, table views and fields for which they have permission based on their Marketplace role. Each table has three ‘view’ options and three ‘edit’ options (Headings: 'Own data'; 'Own org data'; 'All data') which can be set at contact level. In addition, view and edit permissions for each user can be set at table view and field level.
This level of granularity allows say a supplier to specify that a record should be visible to its creator, to others from the same supplier organisation and to clients, but not to those from other supplier organisations. This approach combines essential team interaction with the level of confidentiality necessary for a Marketplace.
Suffixes and filters
A suffix has been added to the labels of all table views: ( PC ) means only visible to PS clients; ( PS ) means only visible to PS suppliers ( NS ) means only visible to Non-PS suppliers; ( NC ) means only visible to Non-PS clients; ( PS + NS ) means only visible to suppliers; ( PC + NC ) means only visible to clients; and ( A ) means visible to clients and suppliers.
Depending on permissions and filters, users may be given access to all the records in a table or just to a subset, for example records added by the creator or by others at their organisation.
Drop downs in the grey menu bar are only visible to users with permission to access the relevant page. However, the links embedded in the homepages are fixed (which can result in an access denied message).
The primary filters are technical expertise, leadership & management expertise, sector and location (ranging from global to a specific city). Secondary filters are service lines (a subset of technical expertise). This facilitates searching and matching with a broad range of granularity.
Alerts are private. Each user can specify which groups (if any) can view their contact details. Some disclosure is inevitable when responding to an email or personal message; or once an appointment has been agreed.
Panels and projects are private to a user and (if shared) their organisation. Creators can specify which groups (if any) can view their needs, services, rate card data, and comments. The organisation directory and management excellence scores are visible to all.
Each record is owned by its creator, with others from the same organisation having view or edit rights if approved by the creator.
Adding new records is simplified (and therefore quicker) as personal and organisational data is captured through the registration form and then synced to the new record within a few minutes. To allow users to continue working with the new record, a set of table views have been created that include 'My ....' in the label.
Once the reg form data has been synced, and assuming the user has specified that the record is to be shared with colleagues or those from specific groups, the record will appear in the 'Shared...' set of table views.
Drop down lists
Choice field drop down lists are synced across the Marketplace as this enhances search capabilities, ensures data consistency and simplifies updating.
Dual factor sharing and archiving
To be shared with others, a record needs to be 1) published by the creator for sharing, and 2) activated centrally. A record can be withdrawn by those with edit rights. Any record can also be permanently archived centrally.
Records in each table can be added, edited, archived and re-activated depending on permissions.
A capped transaction fee is due in respect of all projects sourced through the Marketplace. Clients enter project details with the invoice sent to the supplier.